Denman Island Residents Association Nomination and Election of Officers Special Meeting April 26, 2011

Held at the Old School

Executive in Attendance: Liz Johnston, Andrew Scruton, Derek Hood, Nettie Cotter, Frank Frketich, Doug Wright, Jane Kerr, Clark Siferd, Bert Taylor

Call to Order: 7:12 PM

Chair: Liz Johnston called the meeting to order and welcomed everybody. The first order of business was to elect officers for the new DIRA Executive.

The first position to be elected is for Chairperson. Liz asked for nominations. Jane Kerr nominated Frank Frketich. Frank Frketich nominated Doug Wright. Doug declined for the Chair position and Frank agreed to let his name stand. Frank was elected by acclamation to the position of Chair.

Nominations were opened for Vice Chair, Frank nominated Doug, Doug nominated Clark. Clark declined. By acclamation Doug was elected to the position of Vice Chair.

Nomination were opened for the position of Treasurer. Jane was nominated by Frank and accepted the nomination. By acclamation Jane was elected to the position of Treasurer.

Discussion ensued as to whether to fill the position of Secretary, as there are currently 3 vacancies on the DIRA board. It was determined that the position of Secretary would be left vacant until other vacancies can be filled.

Bert requested the positions be interim until the further positions can be filled. It was determined that this is not feasible for now as signing officers need to be elected from the new Executive to move forward with DIRA business. But the new board has the right to change positions when and if the remaining positions are filled.

Motion to approve: That Frank Frketich, Doug Wright and Jane Kerr be elected as signing officers for DIRA bank account.

Motion: Nettie Cotter, Seconded, Derek Hood. M/S/C

Motion to Adjourn: 7:25 PM M/S/C